Face Farces - Body Poses

Films made while he worked inspired Arnulf Rainer to create an independent group of artworks that captured the nervous tension and transformation of his face when he was drawing intently. 

“When I’m drawing, I feel excited. I talk to myself, pull faces, and swear at people. I am constantly moving and transforming my body, character and person. It was these side effects of artistry that I wanted to lend a life of their own.” – Arnulf Rainer, Face Farces, 1971 

He made his first self-portraits in postcard size in 1968, pulling faces in an automatic photo booth at Vienna’s Westbahnhof railway station. His expressions in these photographs, however, did not correspond to the tension and emotion that he aimed to convey. Thus Rainer drew over these photographs in order to lend them greater emphasis. Initially he showed some restraint, setting only certain accents that were important to him. The more intensely he worked on his photographs and the more absorbed he became in talking to himself – entering into dialogues with himself – the more his image was transformed. Rainer enhanced himself. He assumed facial expressions and theatrical poses for the photographs. In a second step, he used graphic and painterly means to intensify the expression in these images. Painting as self-reproduction and imaginary self-creation. 

The work phases were relatively short. Once Rainer had stimulated his mirror image all the way to extroverted self-communication, the pictures were taken, mostly by a trusted photographer. The next step was to make a selection from the hundreds of moments captured in quick succession in these photographs. Weeks later, after a cooling-off period, a second selection took place and Rainer, annoyed by the inability of photography to capture his ecstatic moments, made his first corrections. 

The principle of superimposition through double imagery was expanded by Rainer’s overlapping of media and of two forms of expression. He merged the performing arts with the visual arts, and photography with painting. The language of the face – its self-expression – was suddenly understood as art, and thus the boundaries between art and life were broken down.

share on facebook

Face Farces - Body Poses

Aufgrund filmischer Aufzeichnungen während seiner Arbeit kommt Rainer auf die Idee seine Nervenanspannungen und Gesichtsverwandlungen beim intensiven Zeichnen als eine eigene Werkgruppe entstehen zu lassen.

Wenn ich zeichne bin ich aufgeregt, spreche mit mir selbst, verziehe mein Gesicht, beschimpfe Leute, bewege und verwandle mich permanent als Leib, Charakter und Person. Diese Nebenerscheinungen bei der Bildnerei wollte ich verselbständigen. ... Arnulf Rainer 1971

In der Fotoautomatenkabine am Wiener Westbahnhof beginnt er 1968 mit den ersten grimassierenden Selbstporträts in Postkartengröße. Allerdings entspricht der Ausdruck in den Fotos nicht seiner Anspannung und Emotion, die er vermitteln will. Um eine bessere Akzentuierung zu erlangen, korrigiert Rainer die Fotos mit einem Stift. Anfangs eher zurückhaltend, setzt er nur bestimmte für ihn wichtige Akzente. Je intensiver er mit seinen Fotos arbeitet, je mehr er sich in Selbstgespräche vertieft – Dialoge mit sich selbst –, umso größere Verwandlungen geschehen mit seinem Abbild. Rainer erweitert seine eigene Person. Er agiert als Schausteller mittels Mimik und theatralischen Körperposen für die Aufnahmen. In einem zweiten Schritt intensiviert er den Ausdruck der Fotographie durch graphische und malerische Mittel. Malerei als Selbstreproduktion und imaginäre Selbstgestaltung.

Die Arbeitsphasen sind relativ kurz. Sein Spiegelbild stimuliert Rainer zu einer extrovertierten Selbstkommunikation, danach erfolgen die Fotoaufnahmen, meist von einem vertrauten Fotografen ausgeführt. Der nächste Schritt ist die Auswahl aus hunderten in kürzesten Abständen festgehaltenen und auf Fotos gebannten Momenten. Nach einer Beruhigungsphase, erfolgt Wochen später eine zweite Selektion und erste Korrekturen entstehen aus Ärger über das Ungenügen der Fotografie seine ekstatischen Momente einzufangen.

Das Prinzip der Überlagerung durch Doppelbildlichkeit erweitert Rainer jetzt durch eine Medienüberschneidung und eine Überschneidung von zwei Ausdrucksformen. Er verbindet darstellende Kunst mit bildender Kunst und Fotografie mit Malerei. Die Sprache des Gesichts, die Selbstdarstellung, wird plötzlich als Kunst verstanden d.h. die Trennung zwischen Kunst und Leben wird dadurch aufgehoben.

auf facebook teilen