Oskar Kokoschka - Lithographs

Kokoschka’s preferred printmaking technique was lithography. He rarely drew directly on the stone; his original drafts were transferred by using the method of transfer printing. In his early period he created, in addition to designing numerous postcards for the Wiener Werkstätte, several illustrations for his own poems. 

In 1908, Kokoschka’s first work of this kind was published: Die träumenden Knaben (“The Dreaming Boys”), a poetry book with colorful illustrations, inspired by Art Nouveau and Japanese woodcuts. In the series of chalk lithographs Die Chinesische Mauer (“The Great Wall of China”) and Der gefesselte Columbus (“The Bound Columbus”), which were published after 1913, Kokoschka increasingly dissolved his initially closed outlines into vibrant line structures. 

The prominent highlight of these illustrations was the portfolio of lithographs Bachkantate (“Bach Cantata”), first published in 1916, which, according to the theme of hope and fear, reveals strong contrasts between the black chalk lines and the white surface of the sheet. 

Kokoschka’s poems and illustrations were always a projection of his own psyche, a reflection of mental processes. He also depicted them in the works he created in 1917 and 1918 for his tragic plays Hiob (“Job”) and Orpheus und Eurydike (“Orpheus and Eurydice”). 

During his stay in Dresden, Kokoschka increasingly occupied himself with portrait lithography. His subjects at the time included Max Reinhardt, Hermine Körner and Tilla Durieux, with whom the artist maintained a close friendly or professional relationship. 

Kokoschka’s departure from Dresden marked a break in his graphic oeuvre, which he resumed in the early 1930s with numerous “Trudl portraits.” He produced almost no printed works while he was in exile in London during World War II. 

Most of Kokoschka’s graphic oeuvre was created after 1956. He published several printed series, primarily illustrations of major works of world literature. In his late period, Kokoschka again intensively devoted himself to the portrait, especially the self-portrait. He generally portrayed himself as viewed from below in monumentalized half-length figures with varying attributes. Kokoschka depicted his physical and psychological condition in these self-portraits, thus documenting his own life process.

Literature:

Oskar Kokoschka, Das druckgraphische Werk, Hans Wingler and Friedrich Welz (ed.), Salzburg 1975

share on facebook

Die Lithographie bei Oskar Kokoschka

Als bevorzugtes drucktechnisches Mittel diente Kokoschka die Lithographie. Nur selten zeichnete er direkt auf den Stein. Die Übertragung seiner Originalentwürfe erfolgte durch die Umdrucktechnik. In seiner Frühzeit entstanden neben zahlreichen, für die Wiener Werkstätte entworfenen Postkarten, auch mehrere Illustrationen zu  seinen eigenen Dichtungen.

Im Jahr 1908 wurde Kokoschkas erstes Werk dieser Art „Die träumenden Knaben“ veröffentlicht, bei deren buntfarbigen Darstellungen Kokoschka vom Jugendstil und  von japanischer Holzschnitten beeinflusst war. In den nach 1913  publizierten Serien von Kreidelithographien „Die Chinesische Mauer“ und „Der gefesselte Columbus“ löste Kokoschka seine anfänglich geschlossenen Umrisslinien immer mehr in vibrierende Strichgefüge auf.

Den prominenten Höhepunkt dieser Illustrationen bildete die ab 1916 publizierte „Bachkantate“, die dem Thema von Hoffnung und Furcht entsprechend, starke Kontraste zwischen den schwarzen Kreidestrichen und dem weißen Blattgrund zeigt.

Kokoschkas Dichtung und Illustration war stets Projektion seiner eigenen Psyche, die Spiegelung seelischer Vorgänge. Diese verbildlichte er in den 1917 und 1918 entstandenen Werken zu seinen Dramen „Hiob“ und „Orpheus und Eurydike“.

Während seines Aufenthaltes in Dresden beschäftigte sich Kokoschka verstärkt mit der Bildnislithographie. Zu den damals Porträtierten zählten Max Reinhardt, Hermine Körner und Tilla Durieux, zu denen Kokoschka eine enge freundschaftliche oder berufliche Beziehung pflegte.

Nachdem er Dresden den Rücken gekehrt hatte, pausierte Kokoschka in seinem druckgraphischen Schaffen, das er Anfang der 1930er Jahre in Form zahlreicher „Trudl - Bildnisse“ wieder aufnahm. Auch während der Kriegszeit im Londoner Exil schuf er kaum graphische Arbeiten.

Ein Großteil seines druckgraphischen Werkes entstand erst nach 1956. Er veröffentlichte mehrere Druckserien, vorwiegend zur Illustration wichtiger Weltliteratur. Auch dem Porträt, und hier im Besonderen dem Selbstporträt, widmete sich Kokoschka in seiner Spätzeit noch einmal intensiv. Er stellte sich zumeist in Untersicht als monumentalisierte Halbfigur mit wechselnden Attributen dar. Kokoschka hielt seine physische und psychische Verfassung in diesen Selbstbildnissen fest und fing so seinen eigenen Lebensprozess ein.

Literatur:

Oskar Kokoschka, Das druckgraphische Werk, (Hg.) Hans Wingler und Friedrich Welz, Salzburg 1975



auf facebook teilen