Oskar Kokoschka in Dresden, 1916 – 1924

Drawings and Watercolors

After recovering from severe injury in World War I, the artist accepted a professorship at the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts in 1919. The works he created during his Dresden period (1916–1924), both landscapes and portraits, are characterized by intense color and block-like structures. Stylistically, this phase is related to German Expressionism, a movement that started with the foundation of the artist group Die Brücke (“The Bridge”) in Dresden in 1905. The founding members were Fritz Bleyl, Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner and Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. Artistic volition, the spontaneous creative urge in connection with the inner necessity to create art, is a characteristic trait of the Expressionists. 

Especially in his drawings, Oskar Kokoschka achieved a particular immediacy that goes hand in hand with his artistic freedom. Following the injuries he suffered during World War I, he developed greater stability with regard to himself, his environment and his artistic calling. His relationships and involvement with other people played an important role in this development. 

During this period, Kokoschka created a large number of figurative watercolors and brush drawings of graphic character that represent an expressive highlight. In his Dresden pictures, his individual experiences are rendered by means of modern inventions of color and form.

Literature:

Kokoschka and Dresden, Werner Schmidt (ed.), Birgit Dalbajewa and Ulrich Bischoff, exhibition catalog Staatliche Gemäldesammlung Dresden and Belvedere Vienna, 1996

share on facebook

Oskar Kokoschka in Dresden 1916 – 1924

Zeichnungen und Aquarelle

Dem Krieg entkommen übernimmt Oskar Kokoschka 1919 eine Professur an der Dresdner Akademie der Künste. Die in der Dresdner Zeit, zwischen 1916 und 1924 entstandenen Werke, sowohl Landschaften als auch Portraits, sind durch intensive Farbigkeit und blockhafte Gestaltung gekennzeichnet. Stilistisch ist diese Phase mit dem deutschen Expressionismus verbunden, der in Dresden 1905 mit der Gründung der Künstlergemeinschaft „Die Brücke“ begonnen hat. Die Gründungs- mitglieder waren Fritz Bleyl, Erich Heckel, Ernst Ludwig Kirchner und Karl Schmidt-Rottluff. Das Kunstwollen, der spontane Schaffensdrang verbunden mit der inneren Notwendigkeit Kunst zu schaffen, ist ein Wesenszug der Expressionisten.

Besonders in der Zeichnung hat sich Oskar Kokoschka eine besondere Unmittelbarkeit erworben, die mit seiner künstlerischen Freiheit einhergeht. Nach seiner Verwundung fand er zu einer gefestigten Haltung gegenüber sich selbst, seiner Umwelt und seiner künstlerischen Berufung. Dabei spielt die Begegnung und Auseinandersetzung mit Menschen eine besondere Rolle.

Kokoschka schafft in dieser Zeit eine große Zahl an figurativen Aquarellen und Pinselzeichnungen mit graphischem Charakter, die einen Höhepunkt expressiver Ausdrucksform darstellen. Er erzählt in seinen Dresdner Bildern durch moderne Farb- und Formerfindungen sein individuelles Erleben.

Literatur:

Kokoschka und Dresden, (Hg.) Werner Schmidt, Birgit Dalbajewa und Ulrich Bischoff, Ausstellungskatalog der Staatlichen Gemäldesammlung Dresden und der Österreichischen Galerie Belvedere, 1996

auf facebook teilen