Irene
Andessner

* 1954

A fetish is needed: a thing, a subject, an expression, a role. Following a careful selection, the process is set in motion and slowly the transformation begins. It starts with a search for role models, references and lore, for a costume, a hairstyle, jewelry and makeup. A search for the essence. Confusion needs to be resolved, proceeding from the most simple to the most complicated, from the external to the internal. Who is the self that Irene Andessner slips into? Very slowly and carefully, she discovers it in the figure. She embraces it, celebrates it, and prepares a feast for it. She finds herself in the figure, while moving from analysis to catalysis. Now the self becomes real and true. Each portrait represents a solemn celebration, culminating in the moment of its photographic capture. The result is an afterimage, a variation, an interpretation, a repetition. Suddenly magic sets in, the pleasure of a ceremony, performed both externally and internally in a solemn manner. Attention, respect and appreciation are the means to recognize the chosen self and to let it merge with oneself into a new whole.

Irene Andessner is a painter. She found her artistic language in staged photography, usually accompanied by performance and video. The photograph is always a highlight of her interpretations; the focus is on self-portrayals. Irene Andessner “paints” herself in a role, visualizing the role model through herself. The photographic material plays an essential part: Polaroid is immediate and unambiguous, an instant image, unalterable. The portraits are created with one of the last large-format cameras and the small amount of original photographic material still available. Each photograph is subject to the randomness of the material. In the C-prints, on the other hand, the perfection of her staging is revealed in brilliant reproduction down to the last detail. The light boxes take the works into a new special sphere, lending them a sculptural character.

We are delighted to show a special selection of Irene Andessner’s works in our gallery with a focus on unique Polaroids. In addition, we would like to invite you to discover her new project: Andy Warhol factory and his women, icons and muses. The transformation takes place with the help of the artist. She is the catalyst that determines the process, carefully guiding the subjects of her photographs through the role and into the picture. A journey of discovery with a known goal, but an unknown outcome. One lends one’s face to the reproduction of an image and a new portrait emerges. Everyone can be a part of it.

To complement her roles and projects, and for some museum exhibitions, Irene Andessner has produced multiples. Some of them are still available in small numbers for our exhibition: Hot-Water Bottle / Painter’s Hat / Models / Chocolate Shoe / From 1 to 7.

For further information about the exhibition click here!

share on facebook

Irene
Andessner

*1954

Ein Fetisch muss her. Ein Ding, eine Sache, ein Ausdruck, eine Rolle. Eine vorsichtige Auswahl. Der Prozess wird in Gang gesetzt und es beginnt die langsame Verwandlung. Vorbilder, Erwähnungen, Überlieferungen. Ein Kostüm, eine Frisur, Schmuck, Schminke. Die Suche nach der Essenz. Die Verwirrung ist eine aufzulösende. Vom Einfachsten zum Kompliziertesten. Vom Äußeren zum Inneren. Wer ist das Selbst, in das Irene Andessner hineinkriecht? Ganz langsam, ganz behutsam findet sie es in der Figur. Sie trägt es vor sich her. Sie zelebriert es und bereitet ihm ein Fest. Findet sich selbst in der Figur. Von der Analyse zur Katalyse. Jetzt wird es wahr und wahrhaftig. Jedes Porträt ist ein feierliches Fest und im Höhepunkt steht der Moment des fotografischen Festhaltens. Ein Nachbild. Eine Variante. Eine Interpretation. Eine Wiederholung. Der Zauber stellt sich plötzlich ein. Die Lust an der Zeremonie. Äußerlich wie Innerlich ist es feierlich geschehen. Achtung, Respekt und Wertschätzung sind die Mittel, das ausgesuchte Selbst zu erkennen und mit sich selbst zu einem neuen Ganzen werden zu lassen.

Irene Andessner ist Malerin. Ihre künstlerische Sprache fand sie in der Inszenierten Fotografie, meist begleitet durch Performance und Video. Die Fotografie ist immer ein Höhepunkt der Interpretation. Der Fokus liegt bei einer Selbstdarstellung. Irene Andessner malt sich in einer Rolle aus. Sie vergegenwärtigt das Vorbild durch sich selbst. Das fotografische Material ist wesentlich. Polaroid ist unmittelbar und eindeutig. Ein Sofortbild. Unabänderlich. Die Porträts entstehen mit einer der letzten noch verfügbaren Großbildkameras und mit dem noch geringfügig vorhandenen originalen Fotomaterial. Jede Aufnahme ist der Zufälligkeit des Werkstoffs unterworfen.  Im C-Print hingegen zeigt sich die Perfektion ihrer Inszenierungen bis ins letzte Detail in einer brillanten Wiedergabe. Die Leuchtkästen führen die Arbeiten in einen neuen besonderen Raum und verleihen dem Werk einen skulpturalen Charakter.

Wir freuen uns sehr eine spezielle Auswahl mit Schwerpunkt auf Polaroid-Unikate in der Galerie zu zeigen und laden sie ein, die neuen Projekte von Irene Andessner kennen zu lernen. Die Factory im Dogenhof. Andy Warhol und die Frauen. Ikone. Luxusfrau. Muse. Porträt. Die Verwandlung erfolgt mit Hilfe der Künstlerin. Sie ist der Katalysator, der den Prozess bestimmt. Die Proband*innen werden von ihr vorsichtig durch die Rolle und ins Bild geführt. Eine Entdeckungsreise mit bekanntem Ziel, aber unbekanntem Ausgang.  Man borgt sein Gesicht für die Wiederholung eines Bildes und ein neues Porträt entsteht. Jede*r kann ein Teil davon sein.

In Ergänzung zu ihren Rollen und Projekten und für einige Museumsausstellungen hat Irene Andessner Multiple produziert. Einige davon sind noch in geringer Stückzahl für unsere Ausstellung verfügbar. (Wärmeflasche / Malerhut / Vorbilder / Schokoladeschuh / von 1 bis 7)

Mehr Informationen zu Ausstellung finden Sie hier!

Webseite der Künstlerin: www.andessner.com


auf facebook teilen